BDO World Trophy 2016

The British Darts Organisation are delighted to announce the line-up for the 2016 BDO World Trophy. 32 men and 16 women head to Surrey to compete for the £100,000 prize pot, with this year's event taking place at Lakeside Country Club, Wharf Road, Frimley Green, Surrey from Saturday 28th to Monday 30th May.

The top 16 players in the men's BDO world rankings automatically qualify, with the reigning Winmau World Masters champion 'Duzza' Glen Durrant heading our list of seeds. His rivals for the title will no doubt include the 2-time reigning Lakeside World Champion 'Scotty 2 Hotty' Scott Waites (seeded 3) and the defending BDO World Trophy champion, Belgium's 'Foxy' Geert de Vos (seeded 13).

There are plenty more familiar faces heading to Lakeside, including the legendary 3-time Lakeside World Champion 'Wolfie' Martin Adams (seeded 2) and the 2015 BDO World Champion 'Scotty Dog' Scott Mitchell (seeded 7). Also seeded are former WDF World Cup Singles champion 'Sparky' Wesley Harms, the 2015 Winmau World Masters champion Martin Phillips and a man who would love to register a third televised nine-dart finish for a £50,000 bonus, Manchester's own 'Dazzler' Darryl Fitton.

There is also plenty of fresh BDO talent within the list of seeds, such as reigning WDF World Cup Singles champion Jim Williams and the recent Lakeside semifinalists 'Yozza' Jamie Hughes and 'Flyers' Richard Veenstra. Last year's BDO World Trophy semi-finalist 'Gladiator' Mark McGeeney returns to Lakeside, as does Lithuania's recent HAL Open champion 'Lucky D' Darius Labanauskas. 2016 Scottish Open and German Open champion Danny Noppert of the Netherlands will be making his debut, as will Yorkshire's BDO Gold Cup champion Brian 'Doggy' Dawson and 23-year-old Welshman Dean Reynolds.

- 1 Glen Durrant (England)
- 2 Martin Adams (England)
- 3 Scott Waites (England)
- 4 Jamie Hughes (England)
- 5 Wesley Harms (Ned)
- 6 Jim Williams (Wales)
- 7 Scott Mitchell (England)
- 8 Darryl Fitton (England)
- 9 Martin Phillips (Wales)
- 10 Danny Noppert (Netherlands)
- 11 Richard Veenstra (Netherlands)
- 12 Mark McGeeney (England)
- 13 Geert de Vos (Belgium)
- 14 Brian Dawson (England)
- 15 Dean Reynolds (Wales)
- 16 Darius Labanauskas (Lithuania)

The men's field is complimented by 9 regional qualifiers from around the globe. Japan's Seigo Asada won his place via the Asian playoff, whereas the reigning Pacific Masters champion Peter Machin has been selected to compete at Lakeside by Darts Australia. Invitations have also been issued to the leading player in each of the seven BDO regional rankings tables, including the 3-time Lakeside World Championship finalist 'Silverback' Tony O'Shea.

In addition, three wildcards have been selected. The 2016 Lakeside World Championship finalist and last year's World Trophy semi-finalist 'the Silencer' Jeff Smith returns from Canada. He is joined by two of the game's biggest characters, twice BDO World Champion 'the Count' Ted Hankey and the 2004 Lakeside World Champion 'the Viking' Andy Fordham.

Asia - Seigo Asada (Japan)
Australia - Peter Machin
Baltic & Scandinavia - Madars Razma (Latvia)
British Isles - Tony O'Shea (England)
Canada - David Cameron
Eastern Europe - Krzysztof Ratajski (Poland)
New Zealand - Craig Caldwell
USA - Jim Widmayer
Western Europe - Roger Janssen (Belgium)
Wildcard - Andy Fordham (England)
Wildcard - Ted Hankey (England)
Wildcard - Jeff Smith (Canada)

The women's competition sees the return of 'the Lancashire Rose' Lisa Ashton and 'from Russia with Love' Anastasia Dobromyslova, who have contested the previous two BDO World Trophy finals. Twice Lakeside World Champion Ashton comes in as the number 1 seed as she looks to defend her title, whilst 2014 winner and 3-time World Champion Dobromyslova is seeded 5.

The 10-time reigning Lakeside World Champion 'the Golden Girl' Trina Gulliver MBE and the current Winmau World Masters champion from the Netherlands, Aileen de Graaf will no doubt be looking to add the BDO World Trophy to their collection. They are sure to be challenged by two former Lakeside finalists, British Open champion 'the Dark Destroyer' Deta Hedman (seeded 2) and the British Classic champion Fallon Sherrock (seeded 3). The top 8 seeding list is completed by reigning Scottish Open champion Lorraine Winstanley and the Australian Masters champion Corrine Hammond.

- 1 Lisa Ashton (England)
- 2 Deta Hedman (England)
- 3 Fallon Sherrock (England)
- 4 Aileen de Graaf (Netherlands)
- 5 Anastasia Dobromyslova (Russia)
- 6 Lorraine Winstanley (England)
- 7 Trina Gulliver MBE (England)
- 8 Corrine Hammond (Australia)

The ladies ranked 9 to 12 in the world also qualify automatically and they will be accompanied by two wildcard selections, BDO world number 13, Paula Jacklin and the twice Lakeside World Championship semi-finalist 'the Danish Diamond' Ann Louise Peters.

- 9 Anca Zijlstra (Netherlands)
- 10 Casey Gallagher (England)
- 11 Sharon Prins (Netherlands)
- 12 Zoe Jones (England)

Wildcard - Paula Jacklin (England)

Wildcard - Ann Louise Peters (Denmark)

With 14 nations already sure to be represented, the tournament field will be finalised on Saturday 7th May at the Wolverhampton Sports Arena, where a further 4 Men and 2 Women will qualify through the BDO World Trophy play-offs.

Prize Funds

Men		Ladies	
Winner	£20,000.00	Winner	£4,000.00
R/Up	£10,000.00	R/UP	£2,000.00
Jnt 3rd	£ 5,000.00	Jnt 3rd	£1,500.00
Jnt 5th	£ 2,500.00	Jnt 5th	£1,250.00
Jnt 9th	£ 1,500.00	Jnt 9th	£1,000.00
.Int 17th	£ 1,000,00		

Nine Dart Check-Out £50,000.00